Daily Prompt, General

Mother Knows Best

Write about the last disagreement you had with a friend or family member — from their perspective. 

“They grow so fast” I sighed and sank back in the bed. My mind went back to when she woke me at 2:00 am and I got up even though I only slept an hour ago and have to be up in two hours. She had a nightmare and just wanted to sleep between mummy and daddy to feel safe. But that was many years ago…

The daughter is a lot older and almost wants nothing to do with her. She barely ever wanted anything to with me, her mother. Always hiding everything and then screaming when I snoop around. I just want to know what’s going on in her life. Why can’t she be like her sister and tell me things?

Blinking continuously, I stop the tears from trying to come down my eyes. I am not going to cry, omo ye n ko le pa mi, mi o pa iya mi (translate: The child cannot kill me, I did not kill my mother ). I hear footsteps so I frown my face, I would let her know how she hurt me.

“Mummy…” I’m sorry

I’m sorry too daughter… “It’s okay, I don’t want to hear it”

She murmurs something which I can barely hear but sounds condescending and then she goes about doing her other things ignoring me.

I love you daughter, let me in…


And that’s my entry! I argue a lot with my mother but sometimes I feel it has a lot to do with me shutting her out and barely tell her things about my life. At the same time,  we have different moments when we want to talk or listen which strains our communication.

Standard

4 thoughts on “Mother Knows Best

  1. Pingback: The Other Person’s Shoes – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  2. Pingback: Just Give Peace A Chance | The Jittery Goat

  3. Pingback: SHORT AND SWEET | hastywords

Share your thoughts

