Daily Prompt, General

Daddy’s Little Monster

When was the first time you really felt like a grown up (if ever)?

I am going to be 13 years old in December. My parents are taking me to my new school this afternoon. It is a boarding school and I am so excited about it.

Ever since I found out I got accepted in the school; which not to be proud but I am pretty smart and I was sure I would get in. I hate that I am leaving my old school for this one, I wanted to go to my elder sister’s boarding school which looks way better.

For the past few months I’ve dream about life in boarding school, though about relieving my sister’s boarding school stories. In my dream, boarding school is so glorious and it would be like the movies I’ve watched. Better yet, it would feel like a Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen movie; they are my favorite.

“…Tuti, you are a big girl now…we would try to come visit you in a month…”

Fast-forward…

As I settle in new bunk bed that night (that my mum made), I review my first half-day at boarding school. My parents aren’t here…I try not to cry as I go to sleep.

I am starting Grade 10 tomorrow. I am in new school. I would not see my parents for a while. Daddy’s little girl is becoming an adult 🙂


Going to boarding school was my first step towards independence. I was finally growing up. While the tone of this story is all rosy,  I failed for the first time in my life that semester so my parents would withdraw me from the school (I disliked the school). Three years after, I finished at the school (it was a love-hate relationship then). Some years later (today) this note was typed.

Standard

7 thoughts on “Daddy’s Little Monster

  1. Pingback: When I Woke Up, I Realized I Was OLD! | So I Went Undercover

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: All Grown Up | nicksen

  3. Pingback: I Don’t Wanna Grow Up | Stuphblog

  4. Pingback: Growing up | thelissachronicles

  5. Pingback: Some Things (Most Things) Are Best Unsaid | The Jittery Goat

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: All Grown Up? Or Do We Have Room For Growing? | My Blog

  7. Pingback: The ticking crocodile | The Daily Dilly Dally

Share your thoughts

