Daily Prompt, General

Pants on Fire

The Tooth Fairy (or Easter Bunny, or Santa Claus . . .): a fun and harmless fiction, or a pointless justification for lying to children?

Lying or Not

I grew not knowing about Easter Bunny or Tooth Fairy but I knew Santa Claus however I learnt about all through cartoons and fairy tales. My version of tooth fairy that I knew growing up was to throw the tooth on a high place so it grows back.

I am going to go Humpty Dumpty on this and say I agree with both and I have my justification for it.

It’s a fun and harmless fiction because it helps kids deal with things that are seen as too old for them or might rub then of a fun childhood. Children should be well equipped with life but fantasies like this preserves their innocence much longer.

It is a pointless justification because it robs the actions of their essence: tooth fairy, the child focuses on money; easter bunny, chocolates; santa claus, gifts they wish for. Children need to be well equipped to deal with like and shielding them like this does no good.

Have I confused you? You’re not alone

Would I perpetuate this to my kids? No but I wouldn’t discourage it either

I love fairy tales and cartoons. Even though I know they are unreal or impossible and I point it out everytime.

Standard

6 thoughts on “Pants on Fire

  1. Pingback: Magic Vs. Reality Tug-Of-War Results | thematticuskingdom

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Fantasy | My Atheist Blog

  3. Pingback: “You Can’t Handle The Truth!” | The Jittery Goat

  4. Pingback: The Daily Prompt: Fantasy | Pondering Spawned

  5. Pingback: The Daily Prompt: Fantasy | Pondering Spawned

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Fantasy Two days in a row | My Blog

Share your thoughts

