Daily Prompt, General

Life and Times

If you could have any author –living or dead – write your biography, who would you choose?

This is a really tough question. I am going through the huge list of books I’ve read so far and trying to weight which author is better poised to tell my story. Here is a list of runner- ups and the winnerwill be annouced at the end.

The Old Man and the Sea was the only Ernest Hemingway book I read without understanding. I read it in high school when I was 13/14 years old. Why Hemingway then? I don’t fully understand my life and  I still thought it was a good book even if  I didn’t understand it.

I read most of William Shakespeare‘s plays when I was like 8/9 years old, my sister was reading it for her classes in high school. I loved the tragedies included in the plays. I like to think of my life as a tragedy with my never ending search for a meaning.

I did not read any of Jane Austen books until last year summer when my friend and I did a Austen challenge and we read all her 6 major books. I like the way she writes and how she portrays the heroine plus it feels like she’s conversing with me when I read it.

To Kill a Mockingbird is such an amazing book. I did not read this until summer last year either. My friend bought the book and I wanted to read it to understand what make it such a big deal. Harper Lee is such a great writer and I now get why it is such a big deal.

When I read Twenties Girl by Sophie Kinsella in 2011 (I think) I felt like it was me. I was so intrigued by it and few weeks after I read it when I was starting a new blog for the umpteenth time, my url was inspired by the book. I love the playfulness in all her novels.

Others I thought about: James Patterson, John Grisham

*DRUM ROLL*

I choose JANE AUSTEN!!! Again, I cannot say how amazing I think her books plus I see myself as a heroine.

Standard

3 thoughts on “Life and Times

  1. Pingback: Life Is Bowl Of Cherries; It Matters Who Does The Pickin’ | The Jittery Goat

  2. Pingback: The Rime of the Ancient Steph | She Said What?

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Ghostwriter | My Atheist Blog

Share your thoughts

