Books, General, Mediums, Reviews

ˈvintij ə-fâr

It’s been almost three months since hopeje [sorry I just realized I wasn’t following] commented on my post about reading A Vintage Affair to which I fell in love with its cover. I do understand now the appeal of getting into Pheobe’s shop because now I feel the same. I had the title on my wish list since you said it and when I saw a great deal that was too good to pass off, I knew I had to buy it.

Just before I finished reading the book today, DJ suggested I write a review on my blog to which I replied that I will be no good at reviewing it. Plus talking about the books  I read are too personal to mention to everyone. I would need someone that appreciates the title just as much as I do.

When I read a book, I am immersed in it and it has such and engulfing power over me. Most times when I ‘m done reading, I ‘m not satisfied with the end so I make up my own ending by adding to what this author has. I agree with Isabel that vintage is about giving new life to a piece of someone’s past.

One person I wasn’t sympathetic towards was Roxy, too spoiled. I felt sorry and sad for what happened between Miles and Phoebe. My eyes watered finding out that Therese died before meeting Lena. I’m unsure of if I want Dan and Phoebe together in a relationship or as really good friends. Poor Emma, poor Phoebe, I took that really personal. All in all, with the emotions invoked by the book, I felt happy when I got to the end.

Maybe I will feel better about giving a book review on my next reads. Till then here’s what I plan to read next:

  1. Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald
  2. 419: A Novel
  3. Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking
  4. And the Mountains Echoed

I will In the meantime, I will appreciate titles recommendation and update my wish list with more books.

Standard

Share your thoughts

